search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • News
  • Local News
  • Vincent named finalist for S.C. Superintendent of the Year

Vincent named finalist for S.C. Superintendent of the Year

on Tuesday, 03 May 2022. Posted in Local News


       Florence County School District 2 Superintendent Dr. Neal Vincent has been named one of three state finalists for the 2023 Superintendent of the Year award from the S.C. Association of School Administrators.

       This marks the second time in the last three years that Vincent has been named a finalist. He attributes that recognition to innovative district initiatives including Montessori for grades pre-kindergarten through fifth, dual credit offerings, increased emphasis on technology in the district, and shared leadership including the Leader in Me model involving students, faculty, parents, and the community.

    “Rural districts face many challenges,” said Vincent. “Our answer has been innovation: increasing access to technology across all grades, expanding early childhood education, increasing opportunities in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math, enhancing college and career readiness through a collaboration between The Darla Moore Foundation, Florence-Darlington Technical College, and Francis Marion University.”

     “I’m proud of what our district continues to accomplish, and I’m honored to be in the company of two outstanding superintendents whose work is worthy of this recognition,” Vincent continued.

      “Vincent has worked hard to add educational opportunities for all students, improve technology, and improve teacher retention,” said Brad Singletary, chairman of the Florence 2 Board of Trustees. “He is willing to go above and beyond to see that the students have what they need to be successful, and we are grateful for his service.”

     State nominations for South Carolina Superintendent of the Year are submitted to SCASA. The SCASA Superintendents Awards Committee reviews the applications and selects finalists. The finalists are then interviewed by a team of educators and community leaders. Scores are compiled from the two teams of committees and the winner is announced in early May.

    Other finalists for this year’s award are Dr. Tim Newman, Darlington County School District and Dr. Marcella Shaw, Barnwell School District 29.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.