search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by

FMU recognizes outstanding employees

on Wednesday, 29 July 2015. Posted in Education, Local News

Francis Marion University honored four employees with special awards and recognized others for long-time service at its annual Staff Awards Luncheon Wednesday on campus. Anthony Lester and Janet McLeod were named winners of the 2015 Staff Service Awards. H. Vashon Brown was the recipient of the John J. Kispert Leadership Award, and Donald Jackson received the Marvin Lynch Humanitarian Award. Co-workers nominate individuals for the awards. A special committee consisting of FMU faculty and staff make the final selection.

Lester is a leads groundskeeper and McLeod is an administrative associate for Rogers Library. Lester has been employed at FMU for five years. McLeod has been at FMU for 35 years. Both were cited for their dedication to their jobs and for their high levels of service. Kispert Award winner Brown is the director of network operations and systems at FMU. The award recognizes staff members who are not in formal leadership positions, but who exhibit the drive, determination and initiative to embrace the mission of their departments and to inspire their colleagues to a higher standard. Brown has been employed by the University for 16 years. 

Lynch Award winner Jackson is an accountant in the University’s business office. The Lynch Award recognizes a staff member who exhibits an unusual commitment to, and care for, his fellow man, both at work and elsewhere. Jackson has been employed at FMU for 21 years. Employees were also recognized with service awards at Wednesday’s luncheon. Recognized for 30 years of service: Kathy C. Johnson, coordinator of special events; Dorothy King, chief cook; Nick McKithen, motor pool supervisor; Ted T. Nettles, lead custodian; Bryan C. Turner, electrician; and Benita Y. Woodbury, senior administrative assistant for Student Life.

Recognized for 20 years of service: Murray G. Hartzler, director of athletics; C. Ann Kelly, administrative manager for the foundation/development office; Violet L. Lloyd, lead custodian; Benjamin A. Strickland, supervisor of maintenance support in the maintenance pool; Marcella Y. Turner, senior library technical assistant; and Ann M. Williams, student services counselor in the Registrar’s Office. Recognized for 10 years of service were: Marvin L. Black, estate grounds-keeper; LaTasha D. Brand, dean of students; Kipp M. Britt, police officer; Leon C. Campbell, lead custodian; James M. Huggins, craftsman/electrician; Stacey D.J. Vallee, head women’s softball coach; R. Thomas Welch, associate director of financial and auxiliary operations; and Brianna D. Zhang, manager of the Kelly Small Business Institute.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.