search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by

Theatre presents awards

on Tuesday, 04 June 2019. Posted in News, Arts & Culture, Local News

Theatre presents awards
Winners at the Florence Little Theatre’s 56th annual Awards Night held May 23 were, left to right, Matthew Jeffords, Kendall Wase, Wes Howell, Tripp Taylor, Beverley Barnwell and Cole Davis.


It wasn’t an Oscar and it wasn’t a Tony, but each winner at the Florence Little Theatre’s 56th annual Awards Night was thrilled to carry home with them an Irving, the award handed out for exceptional performances in each production of the 2018-19 season.

A lively and excited crowd attended the ceremonies on May 23.

This year’s Irving Award recipients were Tripp Taylor for his role in Disney's Aladdin Jr.; Matthew Jeffords, in How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying; Cole Davis, in Two on the Aisle Three in a Van; Kristen Hardaway, in Little Shop of Horrors; Beverley Barnwell in The Dixie Swim Club; and Kendall Wase in Mamma Mia!

The awards are voted upon by members of the FLT Guild committee.

Making the presentations were the directors of each production.

The first award of the evening, the President’s Award, was presented to Wes Howell. The award is given to a volunteer who regularly goes above and beyond in service to the organization.

In handing out the award, FLT Board President John Bankson said Howell was a “light that shone very brightly,”

In accepting, Wes Howell said he wasn’t expecting the honor.

“I met great people, had a great time. Thank you,” he said. 

Elaine Morehead offered words on behalf of the Friends of the Florence Little Theatre.

Chairman Robin Thompson spoke on behalf of the Guild Committee.

A moment of remembrance was held during an “In Memoriam” presentation, recognizing the contributions to the FLT by some who died during the past year.

The evening ended with incoming Board President Juanita Swindler introducing a video preview of the 2019-20 season lineup, which kicks off in July with Frozen Jr. Other productions include Matilda, Blithe Spirits, Dreamgirls, Don’t Dress for Dinner, and West Side Story.

For more information, visit

Florence Little Theatre 2019-20 Season Frozen Jr. July 23-28 Matilda Sept. 13-21 Blithe Spirits Nov. 1-9 Dreamgirls Jan. 24 – Feb. 1 Don’t Dress for Dinner March 6-14 West Side Story April 24- May 1

Following is a list of nominees for each production, with director in parenthesis and winner in bold. Disney's Aladdin Jr. (Lisa Sims): Tripp Taylor, Caleb Howell, Freeman Williams, Bradford Averitt, Jordan Taylor. How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying (Frankie Sullivan): Matthew Jeffords, Kevin Carter, Brittany Miles, Glen Gourley, Ray Taylor, Meggie Baker, Matt Sims, Nikki Raines. Two on the Aisle Three in a Van (Shannon Dunn): Cole Davis, Hanna Ward, Lloyd Willcox, Meggie Baker, Cody McKay, Frankie Sullivan, Larry Falck, Ben Daniel. Little Shop of Horrors (Arlene Boyd): Kristen Hardaway, Frankie Sullivan, Ray Taylor, Angel Robinson-Troupe, Marcia Snowden, Kenay Dixon, Cody McKay. The Dixie Swim Club (Joey Webster): Beverly Barnwell, Sandy Forlini, Joan Shortall, Haley Hughes, Joanna Refvem. Mamma Mia! (Jumana Swindler): Kendall Wase, Scarlett Knight, Mary Kevin Miller, Rebecca Thompson, Garrett Graham, Lance Weldy, Cole Davis, Ben Daniel.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.