search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • Good Life
  • FMU School of Education presents alumni awards

FMU School of Education presents alumni awards

on Tuesday, 09 February 2016. Posted in Good life, Education

FMU School of Education presents alumni awards
From left, Dr. Shirley Bausmith, dean of School of Education, Kirby Register, Timothy Hunter, Carla Brandon

Three Francis Marion alumni received awards at the School of Education’s annual recognition reception on Feb. 2 on campus. The event was part of Homecoming Week activities at FMU. The Novice Educator Award was awarded to Kirby Register (’13, ’15). Carla Jayroe Brandon (’04) received the Veteran Educator Award and Timothy B. Hunter (’96) received the Administrator Award.

The Novice Educator Award recognizes a successful FMU graduate who demonstrates leadership in education and has been an educator at the early childhood, elementary, middle, or high school level for one to three years. The Veteran Educator Award and the Administrator Award go to educators or administrators with four or more years’ experience. Register teaches third grade at Spaulding Elementary School in Darlington.

She earned an undergraduate degree in Elementary Education and a master’s in Instructional Accommodations from FMU. Brandon has been a teacher (reading coach) at Kensington Elementary School in Georgetown since 2014. Prior to that, she was a kindergarten teacher at Browns Ferry Elementary, also in Georgetown, and Pageland Elementary in Chesterfield.

She earned a bachelor’s in Early Childhood Education from FMU and the master’s in Education Administration from Grand Canyon University in 2010. Hunter is Director of Student Services and Instructional Support for the School District of Newberry County and has been since 2012.

He was previously a principal at Boundary Street Elementary School and an after school coordinator, assistant football coach and homebound instructor all in Newberry County. He was also an assistant principal at Batesburg-Leesville Elementary School in Lexington School District Three.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.