search sponsored by

Find more about Weather in Hartsville, SC
              Click for weather forecast

weather sponsored by
  • Good Life
  • BSA Pee Dee Area Council holds 2018 awards banquet

BSA Pee Dee Area Council holds 2018 awards banquet

on Tuesday, 12 March 2019. Posted in Good life, News, Local News

BSA Pee Dee Area Council holds 2018 awards banquet
TOP PICTURE: The Wade Dickens 2018 Pee Dee Area Council Eagle Scouts. LOWER LEFT: 2018 NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award recipient Neal Sarvis, presenter Ed Suggs, recipient Wade Dickens. LOWER MIDDLE: 2018 Pee Dee Area Council Alumnus of the Year presenter Ed Suggs and recipient Phil Bethune. LOWER RIGHT: 2018 Silver Beaver recipients Katie Hardee and Sonny Williams.

By: William M. Mingus, III

The Pee Dee Area Council of the Boy Scouts of America held a banquet to recognize the 2018 Eagle Scouts as well as many other awards.

Council President Walt Barefoot, Council Scout Executive Micheal Hesbach, and Council Commissioner Diane Bauer were all in attendance. The event was hosted by Neal Sarvis, guest speakers were A.D. Jordan (Regional Director for U.S. Senator Tim Scott), and SC State Representative Alan Clemmons.

The Alumnus of the Year is a recognition program to encourage participation and work in council alumni relations programs, including NESA activities; areas of work include alumni identification/promotion, alumni engagement, personal participation, and education. It is presented to Scouting alumni who promote continued engagement with the Boy Scouts of America. The recipient of the 2018 Pee Dee Area Council Alumnus of the Year is Phil Bethune.

The 2018 Pee Dee Area Council NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award was presented to Neal Sarvis and Wade Dickens. The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award is a recognition granted by the local council’s NOESA committee to Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have been made closer to home. It is presented by council NESA committees to deserving Eagle Scouts.

The 2018 Pee Dee Area Council Silver Beaver was awarded to Katie Hardee and Sonny Williams. The Silver Beaver is used to recognize registered Scouters of exceptional character who have provided distinguished service within a council.

Finally the council recognized those scouts who have earned the highest achievement or rank attainable, Eagle Scout. Requirements include earning at least 21 merit badges. The Eagle Scout must demonstrate Scout Spirit, an ideal attitude based upon the Scout oath and law, service, and leadership. This includes an extensive service project that the Scout plans, organizes, leads, and manages. Eagle Scouts are presented with a medal and a badge that visibly recognizes the accomplishments of the Scout.

Below are the 59 scouts from the Pee Dee Area Council who became Eagle Scouts:

Ethen Christian Thomas, Matthew Anthony Price, Adam Douglas Nunnally, Matthew Alan Hawley, Stephan Carlos Kasper, Gavin Thomas Kirwin, Caleb Dean Beckley, Campbell Scott Frost, Jackson Russell Mille, Ivan Edward Morris, Ernest B Buck III, Neal Woodrow Barfield, Clarence Randell Ewing III, Malcolm Maclean Guttry, William Riley Guttry, Dalton Wayne Boone, Ryan James Traver,

Christofer Alan Dixon, Keaton John Myers, Edwin Wilson Matthews, Garrett Neal Fravor, Mason Patrick Bailey, William Garrett Byrd, Jackson Blayne Powers, Wesley Piere Watson, Mason TS Hamilton, William Carr Piner Jr, Brady Keating Roberts, Chad Russell Caudle, Nicholas William Golden, Luther Dunlap Altman III, Steven Marshall Guyon-Martin, Cameron McDonald Moore, Blaz Ryder Williamson, Luke Anderson Prince, Wilson Scarborough Sarvis, Casey Aaron Davis, Christian Jamar Newman, Dakota Reed Hayes, David Bullock,

Evan P. Jumper, Michael Laurence Belanger, Gavin Reese Conners, Andrew Robert O'Brien, James Adam Click, Scott Norton Geddie, Bryson Dale Whidby, Joshua Fisher Parker, Jameson Jennings Copeland, Seiler Ray Pollock, Michael Joseph Michaud, Patrick Hugh Priore, Landen James Pollock, Neal Waterman MacDonald, Cullen Patrick Buchanan, Gregory Ross Thompson, Peyton Lucas Hall, Zachary Eugene Engblom, Tyler Mitchell Rielly, and Nathaniel Michael Marquez.

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest.